Warren Wilson Faculty

AA_Lucy at Board

The faculty at Warren Wilson College provide the foundation for the excellence of our academic programs. They bring a varied and impressive collection of educational backgrounds and experiences to the classroom and greater community.

Over 92% of our full-time faculty have terminal degrees. All of our faculty are superior teachers and mentors who also have active research agendas, maintaining a currency in their fields that activates their classrooms and labs. Their professional reputations extend beyond the College in publications, juried shows, conference papers, invited talks, grants, and awards. In addition, they regularly share their expertise and energies with the community via their service commitments throughout North Carolina and beyond.

Here are our current faculty by department for the 2015-16 academic year:

Lara Nguyen, MFA, Chair
Bette Bates, MFA
Eric Baden, MFA
Julie Caro, Ph.D.
James Darr, MFA
Leah Leitson, MFA
Arlin Geyer, MFA
Jessica White, MFA

Paul Bartels, Ph.D. Chair
JJ Apodaca, Ph.D.
Amy Boyd, Ph.D.
Mark Brenner, Ph.D.
Bob Eckstein, DVM, PhD
Liesl Erb, Ph.D.
Jeff Holmes, Ph.D.
Alisa Hove, Ph.D.

Stephen Cartier, Ph.D., Chair
David Coffey, Ph.D.
Dana Emmert, Ph.D.
Langdon Martin, Ph.D.

Annie Jonas, Ed.D., Chair
Maura Schoen Davis, Ph.D.

Michael Matin, Ph.D., Chair
Debra Allbery, MFA
David J. Bradshaw, Ph.D.
Carol Howard, Ph.D.
David Mycoff, Ph.D.
Sam Scoville, Ph.D.
Margee Husemann, Ph.D.

Environmental Studies
Amy Knisley, Ph.D., Chair
Mary Bulan, Ph.D.
David Ellum, Ph.D.
Geoffrey Habron, Ph.D.
Mallory McDuff, Ph.D.
Susan Kask, Ph.D.
Robert Hastings, MS

Global Studies
Jeffrey Keith, Ph.D., Chair
David Abernathy, Ph.D.

History & Political Science
Chris Kypriotis, Ph.D., Chair
Daleah Goodwin, Ph.D.
Dongping Han, Ph.D.
Philip Otterness, Ph.D.
Tom Showalter, MACT

Integrative Studies
Gary Hawkins, Ph.D.
David Mycoff, Ph.D.

Math/Computer Science
Gretchen Whipple, Ph.D., Chair
Phil Jamison, MS
Holly Rosson, Ph.D.
Thomas Robacker, MS

Modern Languages
Erin Amason Montero, Ph.D., Chair
Angela Phillips, Ph.D.
Lorrie Jayne, Ph.D.
Christine Swoap, MA

Steve Williams, DMA, Chair
Kevin Kehrberg, Ph.D.
Jane McCoy, MM

Outdoor Leadership/Physical Education
Marty O’Keefe, Ed.D., Chair
Jillisa Overholt, Ph.D. ABD
Annette Black, MA
Donna Read, MS

Sally Fischer, Ph.D., Chair
Jason Miller, Ph.D.

Martha Knight-Oakley, Ph.D., Chair
Jennifer Mozolic, Ph.D.
Bob Swoap, Ph.D.
Cristina Reitz-Krueger Ph.D.

Religious Studies
Rima Vesely-Flad, Ph.D., Chair
Matt Hoffman, MDiv.

Social Work
Lucy Lawrence, Ph.D., Chair
Sarah Himmelheber, Ph.D.

Siti Kusujiarti, Ph.D., Chair
Christey Carwile, Ph.D.
Ben Feinberg, Ph.D.
David Moore, Ph.D.
Laura Vance, Ph.D.

Candace Taylor, MFA, Chair

Undergraduate Creative Writing
Rachel Himmelheber, Ph.D., Chair
Catina Bacote, MFA
Gary Hawkins, Ph.D.
Alain Park, MFA, Joan Beebe Fellow 2016-17

Pew Learning Center and Ellison Library
Chris Nugent, M.A.,M.A.L.S., Director
David O. Bradshaw, M.L.S.
Brian Conlan, M.L.I.S
Mei Mah, M.S., M.A.
Heather Stewart Harvey, M.L.I.S
Geoffrey Habron, Ph.D., Director, Electronic Portfolios and First Year Seminar
Julie Wilson, Ph.D. Director, Writing Studio